INSTALLATION CEREMONIES

in honor of

RABBI EPHRAIM I. BENNETT

Rabbi Temple Beth-El

FRIDAY, DECEMBER 3, 1948, 8 P. M.



AND

in honor of

THE OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS OF TEMPLE BETH-EL

SUNDAY, DECEMBER 5, 1948, 6.30 P. M.

TEMPLE BETH-EL

509 Forest Avenue Portland, Maine

ORDER OF SERVICE

for the Installation of Rabbi Ephraim I. Bennett

REGULAR FRIDAY EVENING SERVICES

Installation Program

ADDRESS OF WELCOME

James Stein Pres. Gemple Beth-El

GREETINGS FOR THE COMMUNITY

Rabbi Morris Bekritsky Rabbi, Shaarey Ephiloh, Etz Chaim, Anshe Sfard Synagogues

Rev. Edward Nelson
Pres. Portland Council of Churches

Mr. Israel Bernstein
Pres. Jewish Bederation of Portland

Mr. Joseph Larkin
Pres. Jewish Home for the Aged

ADDRESS OF INSTALLATION

Rabbi Leo Geiger Rabbi Gemple Beth-El, So. Orange, N. J.

ACCEPTANCE OF CHARGE

Rabbi Ephraim I. Bennett

CONCLUSION OF SERVICES Olenu, Mourners' Kaddish, Adon Olam

BENEDICTION

Rev. Arthur Newell Moore (Preble Chapel)

SATURDAY, DECEMBER 4, 1948

Mother's and children's Sabbath Services, 10:15 A. M.

Conducted by Rabbi Ephraim I. Bennett

Program

for Installation of Officers and Directors

STAR SPANGLED BANNER

INVOCATION

Rabbi Morris Bekritsky

DINNER

ADDRESS OF WELCOME

Mr. Maurice B. Cohen Chairman of Installation

GREETINGS:

Robert L. Getchel

Chairman of Portland City Council

Israel Bernstein

President Jewish Dederation of Portland

Joseph W. Larkin

President Jewish Home for Aged

Rabbi David Berent

Rabbi, Lewiston, Maine

ADDRESS OF THANKS TO OUTGOING OFFICERS & DIRECTORS

Sidney Wernick

Master of Ceremonies

ENTERTAINMENT:

Gertrude Kriger, Al Goldman, accompanied by Harold Halpert

INSTALLATION OF OFFICERS & DIRECTORS Rabbi Ephraim I. Bennett

ACCEPTANCE OF CHARGE

James Stein, President

BENEDICTION

Rabbi Edmund Neiss Rabbi, Biddeford, Maine

HATIKVAH

DANCING TO NATE GOLD'S ORCHESTRA

TEMPLE BETH-EL

Portland, Maine

OFFICERS

James Stein President Carl P. Zolov

Uice President

Dr. David Berlowitz

Secretary

Irving Stein

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Edward J. Berman Lewis Bernstein Louis Bernstein James Brooks Dr. B. James Cohen Maurice B. Cohen David Ebenstein Percy Finberg Benjamin E. Finn Mrs. Norman I. Godfrey Franklin A. Golding Harold K. Halpert Benjamin Lazarus George I. Lewis Arnold Potter Harold J. Potter

Myer H. Sacknoff
Irving E. Small
Sidney W. Wernick
Lester M. Willis
Dr. Benjamin Zolov

Edward D. Sacknoff

Jacob Potter

Mrs. Hazel Bernstein

President of Sisterhood

ASSOCIATE DIRECTORS

Shephard H. Cutler Dr. David Davidson Dr. Michael Field George E. Finberg
Dr. George Goldberg
Harry Israelson
Nathan Weinman

Albert Issokson Lewis H. Kriger Herbert L. Lazarus